The Carolinas Credit Union League Names Brian McKay as Vice Chairman of Board of Directors

Brian McKay, Spero Financial President and CEO

Spero Financial President and CEO Brian McKay has been named as the Vice Chairman of the Carolinas Credit Union League Board of Directors. In this peer-elected position, McKay will serve alongside credit union leaders throughout the Carolinas.

“It’s been a pleasure serving alongside other credit union leaders on the Board since 2021. I look forward to continuing my work with the League, as we unite credit unions throughout the Carolinas to further the credit union movement in our communities,” shared McKay.

In addition to his service on the Carolinas Credit Union League Board of Directors, McKay serves as a trustee for Anderson University, chairman of the Langston Charter Middle School Board of Directors, treasurer of the Langston Foundation Board of Directors, and member of the Advisory Council and Finance Committee for Homes of Hope. Named President and CEO of Spero Financial in April 2020, the credit union has earned numerous accolades under McKay’s leadership including being recognized as a Best Place to Work in SC (2021/2022) and Top 10 Credit Union to Work for in the Nation (2022).

Established in 2014, the not-for-profit League serves the Carolinas as an advocate for the credit union industry, elevating members’ collective political voice. In addition, the League helps promote credit union success through regulatory compliance support, product enhancement, service delivery, and employee education. For more about the Carolinas Credit Union League, visit

About Spero Financial
Spero Financial Federal Credit Union was chartered in 1935 as a not-for-profit financial cooperative with one mission: to improve financial lives. As one of the Palmetto State’s largest credit unions, today, it has more than 50,000 members and $700 million in assets. Headquartered in Greenville, South Carolina, the credit union’s footprint spans the Upstate and Midlands with branches in Anderson, Easley, Greenville, Simpsonville, Spartanburg, Taylors, and Columbia.

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.