S.C. Sea Grant Board of Directors Virtual Meeting Scheduled

The S.C. Sea Grant Consortium Board of Directors will hold a virtual annual meeting from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on September 30, 2020. Items on the agenda include discussion of the Consortium’s recent achievements, emerging challenges and strategic direction; final results of the Consortium’s 2019 Site Review Visit by the National Sea Grant College Program; budget and grants updates; the agency’s FY2021-2022 state budget request; the Consortium’s Diversity Work Plan; the Consortium’s Strategic Plan update; and election of the next Consortium Board Chair.

Members of the media and the general public are invited to attend. Please register by Monday, September 28 at www.scseagrant.org/bod-registration.

The Consortium’s Board of Directors is composed of the chief executive officers of its member institutions. Current board members are Mr. James E. Clark, president of South Carolina State University and Consortium Board Chair; Dr. James B. Clements, president of Clemson University; Dr. David A. DeCenzo, president of Coastal Carolina University; Dr. Andrew T. Hsu, president of College of Charleston; Dr. David J. Cole, president of Medical University of South Carolina; Mr. Robert H. Boyles, Jr., director of S.C. Department of Natural Resources; General Glenn M. Walters, president of The Citadel; and Dr. Harris Pastides, president emeritus of University of South Carolina.

The S.C. Sea Grant Consortium, a university-based state agency, seeks to enhance the practical use and conservation of South Carolina’s coastal and marine resources to foster a sustainable economy and environment. The Consortium is a member of the nationwide network of 34 Sea Grant Programs that are sanctioned through the NOAA National Sea Grant College Program, U.S. Department of Commerce. For more information about the Consortium, visit www.scseagrant.org.

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.