Newcomers to vie for District 3 seat on Greer City Council in November

Four incumbents will be unopposed in the City of Greer’s non-partisan general election on Nov. 5 after candidate filing closed today at noon.

Greer residents Mark Hopper and Andrew Hopkins filed to run for the District 3 seat on Greer City Council. Incumbent Kimberly Bookert, who won a special election in 2010 to fill the late Sandra Anderson’s council seat and won two successive terms, chose not to file for the 2019 election.

Unopposed candidates are:

• Rick Danner, who was elected as the City of Greer’s Mayor in 1999 and has served five consecutive terms.

• Jay Arrowood, the District 1 representative to Greer City Council since his election in 2003.

• Wryley Bettis the District 5 representative to Greer City Council since his election in 1999.

• Gene Gibson, who began his service as a Greer CPW Commissioner in 1982.

The Mayor and Greer City Council members serve four-year terms. Greer CPW Commissioners serve six-year terms.

Anyone wishing to be considered as a write-in candidate in the 2019 election must notify Municipal Clerk Tammy Duncan at or (864) 801-2027 of his or her intent by noon on Aug. 29.

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.