Greenville Technical College students named to PTK All-State Academic Team

Three students from Greenville Technical College have been named to South Carolina’s 2021 Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) All-State Academic Team. Lawanda Kay Croom, John Anthony Johnson, and Eric Theodore Lewis were honored in a virtual ceremony held April 22 along with 40 other students from across the state, selected from the 100,000 South Carolina students attending technical colleges.

Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of the two-year college, honors outstanding students from technical, junior, and community colleges nationwide. South Carolina’s team members have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement with GPAs of 3.5 or higher and an impressive record of service to their colleges.

Lawanda Kay Croom is a native of Mississippi who worked as a surgical technologist for 11 years before enrolling at Greenville Technical College to study nursing. After graduation, she plans to earn a bachelor’s degree in nursing, work for a few years, and then pursue a master’s degree to earn certification as a nurse anesthetist.

John Anthony Johnson is pursuing an associate degree in cybersecurity. Named to the dean’s list and president’s list for his academic performance, he plans to enter the workforce, gain experience, and eventually establish his own cybersecurity firm.

Eric Theodore Lewis is earning associate degrees in both Machine Tool Technology and Auto Body Repair. He has been named to the dean’s list and president’s list and is the recipient of the Lockheed Martin Foundation Fellowship and the Gregory Bernard Shaloski Memorial Endowed Scholarship.

“Our PTK chapter draws students with a strong desire to succeed and a dedication to setting a vision and goals,” said Dr. Keith Miller, president of Greenville Technical College. “These honorees reflect the path of excellence that is possible with the state’s technical college system.”

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.