The InnoVision Awards Organization Announces the 2017 Awards Dinner Keynote Speaker

Greenville, SC, September 29, 2016 – The InnoVision Awards Program is announcing its 2017 Keynote Speaker for the Annual Awards Dinner on November 9, 2017.

The 2017 keynote address will be presented by Mr. Steve Johnson, President of Compass Bioscience Advisors in Greenville. Prior to starting up Compass, he was President/CEO of Brookhaven Vascular, which was started in Greenville as CreatiVasc Medical in 2007. CreatiVasc was acquired in 2016 and is now DiaxaMed Corporation which continues to develop innovative technology solutions for End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD), a field where there has been little innovation in 30 years and costs the U.S. healthcare system over $50 billion annually.

Johnson has over 25 years of new product development and technology commercialization experience, rising through the ranks of a division of Dow Chemical to become Vice President of New Product Development. He also headed technology management and intellectual property for Concurrent Technologies Corporation. He has served as an advisor in medical device and health care technologies for a wide range of organizations including Harvard-MIT-Draper Labs Medical Simulation Group, Eastman Chemical, Kimberly-Clark Professional Health Care, and California-based Maximum Life Foundation.

CreatiVasc was Johnson’s third successful start-up, the first being Creative Technologies which was an inaugural winner of the Deloitte InnoVision Award in 1999. Steve has also won the Private Sector Initiative Award from the U.S. Department of Commerce and the Marine Corps Commandant’s Award for Innovation in 2006 for being one of the inventors of the Marine Corps Materiel and Equipment Readiness Information (MERIT) system. This “dashboard” equipment status metadata program is credited with saving the Corps over 1 million man-hours in its first year of use. He was also the winner of the 2008 InnoVision Award.

Johnson has been a sponsor and instructor at the New Product Development Lab at the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business, and is a frequent guest lecturer and speaker on entrepreneurship at the University of South Carolina Moore School of Business. He also developed the curriculum on intellectual property for the National Defense University in Washington, DC. In 2016 Johnson was named Professor of Practice in Bioengineering at Clemson University. He also serves as a member of the Greenville Health System Intellectual Property Committee.

Johnson was awarded the InnoVision Charles H. Townes Lifetime Personal Achievement Award for Innovation in November 2012.

He has served on numerous boards including the Southeastern Medical Device Association (SEMDA), former vice-chairman and Executive Board member of SCBIO, the life sciences industry organization in SC.

The 19th Annual InnoVision Awards Dinner is November 9, 2017 from 5:00 PM- 8:30 PM at the Spartanburg Marriott. Finalists will be recognized in six distinct categories: Technology Development, Technology Integration, Community Service, Sustainability, Education and Small Enterprise.

Additionally, InnoVision recognizes a community leader with the Charles Townes Individual Lifetime Achievement Award & a state education program with the Ibrahim Janajreh Young Innovator Award.

Sponsorships, Tables and Individual Tickets are now available online by visiting this link: